“An epic rich in detail and passion, Lakes of Canada have a
Canadian classic on their hands with Transgressions. 9/10″ –

“The songs stand on their own and some, like the final title track,
deserve a permanent place in the Canadian songbook.” – CBC Music

“It’s a relatively trim 40 minutes of music, but covers a lot of
ground, musically and emotionally.” – The Globe and Mail

“The music is energetically grandiose, with choral and orchestral
folk-rock evoking the classical origins of the concept album in
oratorios and orchestral tone poems.” – The National Post

“It’s almost as if there’s a common, explicable, perceivable bond
between dystopian literature and music made about a dreary
fucked-up future. Maybe there is. Or maybe Lakes of Canada
stumbled upon something big here.” -The Huffington Post

Founded in 2011 in Montreal, Lakes of Canada is a four piece
progressive rock group with gospel and soul vocal harmonies
featuring: Jake Smith on lead vocals, guitar, keys, and percussion,
Sarah Morasse on vocals, keys, percussion, and organ, Conor O’Neil
on drums, vocals, and keys, and Caleb Smith on bass, keys, vocals,
guitar, and percussion.

Lakes of Canada has held the #2 most pretentious band in the CULT
Montreal reader’s poll for 4 years running (we’re coming for you
Arcade Fire). They have performed across Canada and been
featured at Festivals including: POP Montreal, Canadian Music
Week, Festival Folk sur la Canal, M for Montreal, NXNE, and Osheaga.

In 2012 they won Best Band of the St-Ambroise Montreal Fringe Festival.
“Transgressions” won best Traditional/Roots album at the 2016
GAMIQ awards. Conor O’Neil and Jake Smith also recently won album of
the year Juno awards, and Rock Performance of the year Grammy awards for their work on Leonard Cohen’s final record,
“You Want it Darker”.

Lakes of Canada released their second album, “Transgressions”,
inspired by Margaret Atwood’s dystopian novel “The Handmaid’s
Tale”, on October 16th, 2015, followed by a tour throughout Eastern
Canada. “Transgressions” was produced by Jace Lasek (The Besnard
Lakes, Arcade Fire, Patrick Watson, Young Galaxy) at Breakglass
Studio in Montreal. They released “Transgressions Acoustic” in the fall
of 2016.

Their debut album “Toll the Bell” was released in 2012.